You are here:

Abbott Elementary Brings Back Interest in Education By Cassiette West-Williams

Three Emmy awards were earned by the cast of Abbott Elementary, which made veteran artists cry and others rejoice with surprise. The educational-based comedy is centered around true incidents and teachers, who are involved with the public education system in Philadelphia, PA. The show, which is in its second season, was renewed for 22 episodes for 2022-2023.

Quinta Brunson, 32, won her Emmy for writing for the show. She is the creator of Abbott Elementary, as well as one of the producers and the lead actress.  She plays the character Janine Teague, who is a fresh, young, naive educator, who is slowly learning that everything is not like they told you in the College of Education. She is supported in the school by seasoned veteran teachers, who bring the classrooms to life. Some of Brunson’s scripts reflect situations that her mother shared with her when she was teaching in the inner city. Brunson is a native of Philadelphia

Also winning her first Emmy was veteran actress Sheryl Lee Ralph, who encouraged others to believe in themselves and follow their dreams. Ralph is only the second Black woman to win an Emmy as best supporting actress in a comedy. Jackee Harry won the first one in 1987 when she starred in the show “227.” Ironically, the producers of 227 wanted Ralph to play the role of the sexy Saundra in 227, but Harry won the part. Harry was very gracious on social media, congratulating Ralph on her win.

The third Emmy was for having the best produced comedy for the 2021-2022 season. The 74th Emmy Awards was broadcast from Los Angeles, CA on September 12th.